Chinese Stir fry Vege with curry Laksa

Last thursday our dinner. Sometimes for a change we make noodles and stir fry vege. Curry laksa is noodles dipped in curry which is lightly spiced with a elegant flavour of coconut milk.

Laksa (Chinese: 叻沙; pinyin: lèshā) is a popular spicy noodle soup from Peranakan culture, which is a merger of Chinese and Malay elements found in Malaysia and Singapore. The name may originate from the Sanskrit word laksha (लक्ष), meaning “many” and referring to the soup’s many ingredients; the word is also the origin of the Hindi term lakh.for more look at here

 

veg_fry

Let me come to the recipe first for Laksa.  My pictures are not clear at the very right moment my camera battery went low phew! So i took all pitures in my handphone which came handy at the right time. My daughter and H werein a hurry to eat with tofu and bean sprouts not left for the photo …..

laksa

 

All you need

Laksa boiled thick soft white rice noodles – 1 packet

bean sprouts – 2 cups

boiled egg – optional

fried tofu cut into triangles

spring onions/coriander for garnish

Thick coconut milk -1 cup

Make a raw Paste of the following

shallots – 4

red chillies – 8

ginger – 2 inch

garlic pods – 4

lemon grass bulbs – 2

coriander powder – 1 tsp

turmeric powder – 1 tsp

  • Take oil in a kadai fry the paste until fragrant
  • Add 1 glass of water and the noodles, salt boil until soft
  • Add coconut milk, tofu pieces  simmer for 2 minutes care not to put in high flame
  • Take a serving bowl add the soup nooddles, bean sprouts, boiled egg
  • Serve with spirng onions garnished. Yumm noodles is ready

Note: Can substitute milk for coconut milk, some of my friends did say even one of the recipe link at the wikipedia has a similar recipe.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. asha says:

    Roopa,Laksa is new to me and looks delicious.My daughter loves Tofu too,I will try this for her with less spice.Thanks girl.Have a great weekend:))

    Oh! Before I forget loved the stir fry veggies too.

    –Asha thumba tasty irathe try madi 🙂 nimage kanditha ista agathe

  2. sunita says:

    Roopa, …a new term for me…never heard of laksa…loved the recipe though…

    –Thks sunitha do try it!

  3. Reena says:

    Roopa, This one is a new dish for me and I love you MM event’s stir fry too. The background in your pictures remind me of sky at night with stars 🙂

    –Reena do try it , you would love it ! oh the backgroundmy kitchen top is black galaxy 🙂

  4. Richa says:

    hey, liked the laksa curry & good info there. I like the lemon grass flavor, will try this.
    thanks

  5. Vini K says:

    Wow Roopa,this looks great!I have bookmarked it .Will try it this week.Looks so great!BTW,thanks for visiting my blog and leaving all your wonderful and caring comments.I will be blogrolling you,but it may take some time.Just remember,you are not forgotten,my friend!:)

    –Thanks Vini sure, i am awaiting for your baking tips ……..always 🙂

  6. trupti says:

    are you kidding me? those pictures are still great..! And I just love noodles with a soup base. Thanks for a new recipe, I love noodles like I love daal-chawal…. 🙂

    –Thanks trupti and welcome!, we too when my family has it they say its like light rasam with noodle, very filling too!

  7. sia says:

    laksa…never heard of this although i have had noodles soup roopa. thanks for introducing this:)

    –try madu, you will like it!

  8. Sig says:

    Oooh, I love Singapore noodle soups! This recipe is a keeper Roopa, with lemon grass and coconut milk, wow!

  9. sandeepa says:

    This laska looks and feels good Roopa..am going to try this soon

  10. swapna says:

    hi Roopa
    very healthy recipes!!

  11. Sharmi says:

    laksa looks good. very informative recipe too. looks like comfort food. want to try out sometime.

  12. just for fun says:

    Laksa looks new to me.
    nice dish. thanks for sharing Roopa 🙂

  13. Roopa says:

    @ sig
    The flavour of lemon grass with the coconut milk makes it very tasty!

    @sandeepa
    Do try it! surely this would not fail you and would love to have more

    @Sharmi
    Yeah Shrmi it is indeed more of a comfort food, most of the indians i have spoken love this which is as good as having rice and sambhar

    @jasu
    Do try it sometime Jasu!

Leave a Reply

