Hyderabadi Bhagara Baingan

The first recipe I could think of when Andhra cuisine was anounced was the various chutneys and pickles. Even other south Indian do make pickles like me too being a south indian but with Andhra it is very unique. Due to the introduction of the cooltext49334985.pngblogosphere  I came to be aware of various cuisines andhra is one such which i was highly influenced by various blogs. Now I regularly make patoli/kura, gongura chutney, even pulusu which is similar to our majjige hulli.

Coming to the recipe, this is a very delicious hyderabadi baingan masala….basically I was out of ideas of what to prepare when RCI for andhra was anounced. Checking the Tarla Dalal recipe book, I got hold of this recipe. I never tried this until today as I was happy with what I prepared for baingan masala which can be found here. The masala turned very delicious though I did not get the right color. You can make the masala gravy more thin, I wanted it to go along with parotas so I made the gravy a little thick.

This is my entry for Lakshmi’s RCI hosted by Latha from Masala Magic

 

hyderbadi_bhagara_baingan

 

All you need: Brinjals small purple – 15 slit with a plus with the stalks intact

for masala: sesame seeds – 2 tbsp, groundnuts – 2 tbsp, coriander powder – 1 tbsp, jeera powder – 1 tsp, chilli powder – 2-4 tsp, turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp, onions – 1/2 cup, garlic – chopped, ginger – chopped along with grated coconut – 1/2 cup, tamarind – 1 tsp, salt to taste.

tempering:  mustard seeds – 2 tsp, methi seeds – 1/2 tsp, curry leaves – 10, 2 green chillies slit, oil for frying.

 

method: Fry the ingredients for masala leaving the tamarind paste and salt until nice and fragrant. I opted to fry the groundnuts first until half done. Add sesame seeds fry for another few secs add the remaining ingredients along with grated coconut and fry. Let it cool for few minutes now make a paste with a little water along with tamarind paste and salt. I added a little jaggery  also as I cannot think of cooking without it .This is optional 🙂 .

 

Take a kadai/ pressure pan. heat oil add the tempering ingredients and fry brinjals for a few minutes until the skin becomes fried. yumm.. this smell spreads the whole house and you are opt to find all of them go hungry…….. Once fried remove the brinjals keep aside. In the same oil fry the masala paste until oil leaves the side( mine did not leave any oil may be less oil) i fried until fragrant. Now add the baingans and potato(for my daughter) mix well add a cup of water. The consistency should be like little thick sambhar. Check for salt now if you are patient enough you can steam and stir now and then until the baingans are soft. u..gh i am not, so i steam in my prestige handi for one whistle. There you are the delicious Baingan masala, the brinjals remain firm and stalk intact. Garnish with coriander leaves and serve hot with rice/chapati/parotas.

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Asha says:

    Looks mouthwatering and I wish I could reach out to get some for my Akki rotti!
    You are right,we have so many dishes similar to Tamil and Andhra cuisine and they are just called in different names!:))
    Love the dish Roopa.

    ASha it was real yummy and had it even for the next day! i was totally confused what to make everything looks so similar alva. i am not a chutney person as Gana just does not fancy much of it. try madi !

  2. Richa says:

    that looks fantastic, roopa! all the stuffing is so yummy, i guess will go well with tindli/dondakaya as well. now about that potato, i too would add a couple of them heh!heh!

    you are very right Richa this should go even with thondli/capsicums. nice of you to give that tip will try that next time…

  3. bee says:

    very good-looking curry this is, roopa. i’ve just started cooking with eggplant. haven’t eaten it for years and years.

    –oh Bee you are really missing something dear! There is not a week in our home we don’t have eggplants. Do continue to cook with it.

  4. sandeepa says:

    Looks delicious. I have had this at one of my andhra friends place it was really tasty. Shall try this because hubby loves Baingan

    –Thnks Sandu, Do try it you will surely make it again.

  5. Mishmash! says:

    If I may echo other, the dish looks absolutely fabulous…this is one of my favourites to go with indian breads though my hubby doesnt come anywhere near this 😛
    Shn

    oh … Shn.. thats hmm try adding like what i do potato/ladyfingers for your hubby and you can also enjoy with your baingan.Thats what i do for my daughter.

  6. Lata says:

    picture looks great. Who doesn’t love Bhagara Bhaigan

    Thnks lata, yeah we love it but not my daughter dear and many others i know of too!

  7. Ramya says:

    hey, the pictures look reallly good!!!! And I love anything to do with badanekai!!! 🙂 thanx for the recipe

    thks ramya, me too love badnekai.

  8. Latha says:

    Looks delicious Roopa.

    thks latha, looking forward for the roundup!

  9. Deepa says:

    Yeah nice one …..Baingan my favt …so really yummy

    Thks Deepa.

  10. Sreelu says:

    Roopa, No way this is my entry for RCI too, your’s is a little different from mine. Mouthwatering !!!

    Sreelu will look forward for your recipe, there are lot different types of masalas right!

  11. Jyothi says:

    looks delicious roopa, thanks for sharing such a nice recipe.

    Thks jyothi, the masala is worth a try .

  12. Nalini says:

    wow! looks so– yummy. I make this too but with out the garlic and onions! Good entry!

    –I too make another masala which is quite different, but i loved the flavour of the fried masalas

  13. indosungod says:

    Wow looks really tasty. would sure love some.

    –Indo thnks dear, just hop and take a scoop !

  14. VINI says:

    Looks absolutely delicious. Brinjal is one my fav veggies. I should try your recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks Vini for stopping by!

  15. archana says:

    Hi Roopa,
    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I had always heard of Hyderabadi Baingan, but never had the recipe. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe. The Mango Cookies is also a new recipe.

    Archana thanks for visitng dear ! it is my pleasure to have you here hope you visit again 🙂

  16. viji says:

    Nice spicy one roopa. Viji

    Thks viji

  17. sia says:

    u know what? i too had stuffed baingan yesterday:) gr8 minds think alike han;) ennadu bere reetiya stuffing without much gravy. maneli enna hubbyge badane helidare allergy so i use okra for him:) beautiful pics roopa…enage tumba hashu avta iddu:)

    oh yenu howde? dry masala maddiya? enage amma mado dry masala bari ista but en hubbyge gravy beku so have not done that for years. so ninge eginda erdu bageya vege hakava. en maganige eginda varake erdu sala badnekai kodthe hopefully he likes it in future too. manege bathiya adige tayar iddu he he:) see u dear have a nice day 🙂

  18. sunita says:

    That looks so yummy…must have tasted great…love baingan…

    Thks Suni, it tastes great try it me too love baingans…

  19. Sharmi says:

    hey they look so yummy. lovely recipe yarr. will surely try them. had beed in hybd for so long and never even came across such a nice recipe.

    Sharmi it is always the case even i stay in Spore i do not know so many recipes until last year my sil pointed out how they use veges and why … i was aghast :-0. by the way the recipe is worth trying ….

  20. Cynthia says:

    My mom would love this dish. I think I’ve seen a similar one on someone’s blog last week.
    Looks good Roopa. I agree – you always need some thick gravy so the parotas have something to hold on to 🙂

    Lot of baingan(Eggplant) curries… yeah even Sreelu has one..too . thks Cynthia.

  21. mandira says:

    Bagara Baigan looks delicious. We recently had it in a restaurant… have been thinking of trying it at home… will try your recipe.

    Thks Mandira. Let me know if you tried how it turns out for you.

  22. swapna says:

    looks delicious deepa.

    Swapna dear i am roopa not deepa …. 🙂
    anyways thks !

  23. Hi Roopa, your brinjals look soooo delicious! I am always ready for anything with eggplant. I must try your version soon! Thanks for sharing this 🙂
    Linda

    Hi Linda! Welcome to my space! You are my type of girl , Linda do try it and hope to see you again!

  24. Gana says:

    Good stuff Roopa . The quality of your photo and presentation improved a lot. Keep the good work .

    Thnks 🙂 i never thought you would come and comment here!

  25. Sushma says:

    Wow…my hubby dear also made similar dish…its taste great..and Eggplants I love them ……YUMM
    Great picture and really make my mouth water dear

    Thks Sush so your hubby also loves to cook right! yeah i have some more eggplants may be time now for another batch hehe:)

  26. Sukanya says:

    Hi…
    Ur eggplant curry is looking great. I is YUMMY!. This is one of my favorite vegetarian dish.

    thks Sukanya.

  27. Venci says:

    Look Great & Yummy but did anyone try this ? I feel like… Can I 😉

    Hi Venci welcome to my blogosphere, i am not sure as of anyone has tried this but you sure can try it 🙂 do let me know how it turns out .

  28. mansi says:

    wow, my husband absolutely loves this!! i ate it once in a dallas restaurant and we got hooked to ti!! awesome, thanks for the recipe.

    -Mansi
    http://funnfud.bogspot.com

    Thanks for dropping by! hope you try them too!

  29. shiba says:

    wow!!! i had ths baigan at my hubby’s friend’s place…it was gr8!! i had asked his wife abut how to make it.but forgot the ingerdients….saw ur recipe……….its the same as she had told me………..thanks a lot!! saved a lot of my time !!!

    Welcome Shiba !

  30. KUMARASWAMY says:

    hai roopa , me vantalu chala bagunnayi.

Leave a Reply

