ಮೈಸೂರ್ ಪಾಕ್/Mysore Pak

Sunday we had a great time with our cousins family. My cousin makes wonderful ever tasty divine Mysore paks I have tasted at anyones home. I wanted to make sure this time we had ample time to learn this big pak…Me and My H got to work busy preparing for lunch and awaiting the arrival of our cousin . All planned well…. at 1 hr to lunch time my H got a call from his office he had to go … oh no I thought. I was very dissappointed to see him go but no choice, fortunately the vege pulav was ready I packed it for him and started working on the other chores. I tried feeding my little son with some sambhar rice, but he was so excited that his favorite uncle and aunt with kids coming over he refused to eat well. i let him go and started to prepare the last item puris and finally fried a few they were here. My cousin lent her helping hand as ever to fry the rest of them. We all had a jolly time, kids had lunch with no fuss and me and my cousin chatted over lunch…..Kids were making big hungama, After lunch i checked on my son wheather he was sleepy to make him sleep for a while so that we had nice free time to make the mysore pak but he was so playfull refused to come over. We decided let him play he will not distrub us. Nidhi and Rajath were busy playing chess, while Anku and Shreyas (7) were playing with the tricycle and small gadi. I finally started to get ready with the ingredients as my cousin Sitakka directed.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

All you need:
Gram flour sieved: 1 Cup
Sugar: 2 cups ( i used fine sugar)
Ghee : 1.5 cups (liquid)
Corn oil: 1 cup (use Veecorn or Golden drop)
water : 1 cup (1/2 the measure of Sugar)
Greased plate with Ghee
Greased knife
Sugar(coarse better for sprinkling on the sweet)

Method:
An hour before Starting soak the sugar in water and keep aside so that the sugar dissolves
Seive gram flour and fry the Gram Flour in a kadai( aluminium is better) somehow my non stick tends to stick the flour until raw smell disappears
Liquidify ghee and measure the ghee and oil using the same measuring glass as for gramflour
Pour the ghee-oil to a copper bottom vessel and keep the flame on low heat to keep it warm(i heard a cry and triffle, checked on our sons, my son was angry for some reason. telling ni hoggu, ni beda and sitting in one corner. actually i shd have taken a snap of that too :0. Called him, he refused ……ow ow askedn my dad to try his luck… we continued….
Check if sugar has dissolved completely if not on low flame heat the sugar-water until the sugar dissolves
Add the gram flour and mix well to avoid any lumps ( Again another squeak now what was that, he agreed to have some milk but wanted amma’s lap oh dear what to do….? again pacify him agreed to sit with his grandpa and drink milk.) Meanwhile Sitakka was stiring ….
Once the gram flour is blended well keep on stiring on medium flame adding the hot gheeoil side by side ( the oil-ghee must be warm to check the warmth, when you add it to the gramflour paste you must be able to see bubble formation)
Continue stirring and adding, now the paste has reached a foaming stage.
Continue….reaches to a pulpy stage looks like mango pulps
continue and carefull…. oil start to leave and float, continue until lightly browned ( you might feel the ghee getting into your tummy feeling uneasy of the fat not to worry half the oil-ghee is left out after the formation of the sweet)
Cooking this on a Aluminium kadai will give a a soft lump while the oil leaves, while as in non stick we did not get that state but was more like the mass was spread like you can look at the slide.
Pour to a greased plate along with the ghee. sprinkle sugar granules. allow to sit for 5 mins
Cut into desired shapes. Let it cool fully now pour the remaing Ghee out.
After cooling you can see different layered in the sweet which is slightly browish inside with soft crust.
Enjoy the divine mysore paks……..

 

Mysore_pak_crust2


I am sending this for the Trupti’s Event Spring Fling 2007
Thanks Sittakka for the delicious sweet.Note: The color of the pak may differ from the different variety of flours available. Some flours might not give the right texture. The flour i used was Rajadhani. As we fried the flour S did state the flavour is not so good as fresh flour and when mixing the flour was little lumpy also but we still continued and we did not find any difference in taste though the color was on the little darker side.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. viji says:

    A nice entry, and you are tempting us with this Roopa. Viji

    Thks Viji, i love this sweet but never got the texture as in here….:)

  2. seema says:

    Oh my Roopa…Yakri hingella tempt madthira nammanna…Yet another sweet that I love. I have been wanting to try mysore pak since a long. Will book mark it. Never heard of adding oil to mysore pak. Thanx for sharing.
    Hugs
    Seema

    Good to see you back here :). Tempt agtha… i love this sweet too seema, This version is always very delicious and the crust is as good but haguraavagi irrathe so madi.

  3. archana says:

    The close up of the Mysore pak is looking heavenly. It is a nice entry for Trupti’s event 🙂 Loved the sweet.

    Thanks Archana, it even heavely to eat it too 🙂

  4. sunita says:

    I am a sucker for anything sweet…your’s look delicious…nice entry…

    Thanks Suni….

  5. Aruna says:

    Roopa, Sittakka navara mysore pak thumba chennagidde. Nanu Mysoore hoodagella, Nandi Mysorepak mathu Guru Sweets Mysore pak thappade extra pack madi tharuthenne.
    E recipe na kanditha try maaduthene. Thx.

    Try madi Aruna, do update if you try even i have to try all alone… . i am not sure of sweet marts in mysore but my dad used to buy for us different varieties wherever he travels..

  6. Asha says:

    Looks little different from the usual yellow lacy Mysore Pak but I can see it’s yummy with all that ghee!Slurp!!
    Hardest part for me is to get that right consistency to plate it so I can get perfect pieces!!:))
    Great entry.

    Thks Asha, i am not sure why we do not get it yellow color i will check with Sitakka, whenever she made for us it would turn light golcen brown to slightly darker on the below, could be due to the flour we get here.. nangu aste every time mine turns out either like normal sweets never get the right texture….

  7. Trupti says:

    That looks so good! I don’t think I have had it with the oil in it before….must try and see how mine turns out!
    thanks for this entry!
    -trupti

    yes you are right trupti, anyone i ask they would say 3 cups ghee, which definately we would not like to use. this version is very similar to the paks we get it stores excet the color not sure of that….

  8. Richa says:

    hey roopa, you must have really enjoyed this cooking session with ur cousin! looks so good!

    Yeah Richa, it was a great time to know how to …..

  9. PSS says:

    Madam,
    This somehow does not look like the Mysore pak that we get in stores. I think you havent got it right.
    Sorry to say if you are dissappointed by the looks of the pak, but the taste is as good as we get in stores. The lighting effect has made it more darker than it looks. This is skimmed version of mysore pak using half of ghee where as original recipe calls for 3 cups of ghee but there is no compromise in the taste

  10. Mamatha says:

    Hi roopa,
    Mysore pak nodutidare , mysore na “Guru Sweets ” nenapayitu. I love it like anything . Ivatte madutini.
    Thanks for the recipe
    Mamatha

    Mamatha, have you tried is seriously!! Do update how it turns out for you.

  11. Lata says:

    My friend taught me this 2 years back but after that I never got a chance to make, I will definitely try this.

    Lata, if you try it let me know how it turns out ….

  12. Sajeda says:

    I love your blog
    mysore pak is jus Wow!
    looks very tasty
    slide show is a great way of displaying

    Thks Sajeda for dropping by and leaving an inspiring comments… Do visit again 🙂

  13. sia says:

    roopa, khandita hotte novu baratte nodi 😉

    Sia, yenu long weekend is it….., hmm i still have a box of paks and half of badusha left . This is one sweet i devour when i was pregnant with anku i would request her to make this for me gotta 🙂

  14. Sharmi says:

    hey great looking mysore pak. looking for this recipe. has come out really well.

    Sharmi my cousin is a great cook she is also one who inspires me and surprises me with the delicies she makes. There is lot more to learn from her even though we stay just 2 km away it is hardly we have enough time to spend…

  15. Ramya says:

    Hey, I love mysore pak too!!!! gr8 looking ones here… Thanx so much 🙂

    Ramya howdu thumba chenagidde try madi….

  16. Mamatha says:

    Hi roopa,
    I tried it, it came out really good. my hubby and son liked it very much. Nannadu dark color ittu but I know even in mysore I have seen both yellow and golden color and i like dark color very much,
    thanks for the recipe
    mamatha

    You are welcome mamtha and very happy to know it turned out well. So it guess because we use oil also it turns out golden color. My cousin will be very happy to know about it too. 🙂 thks

  17. mandira says:

    roopa, this looks delicious and uses much less ghee, it’s going on my must try list… your chilli plant looks so cute. Mine has started to flower, waiting for chillies now 😉

    Yeah mandira key point less Ghee! My chilli plants have small buds sprouting can’t wait to see flowers…. wow do update on your plants mandira. My other flowering plants died because of shifting here and there no proper sunlight due to our apartment is on painting :0 Luckily i grew these inside 🙂

  18. Cynthia says:

    As with many things 🙂 this is the first time I am seeing this and it looks really tasty. Is this a treat that would be made on special occasions like particular festivals/holidays?

    You are right Cynthia, this is a special treat for ocassions usually made for diwali festival and special days

  19. Seena says:

    Hi Roopa,
    thanks for visiting my blog!
    I like the way you presented Mysore pak, easy to follow, but unfortunately am not able to see other photographs..(flickr is banned here)…. will visit u to see the recipes..

    Seena Welcome and hope to see you again! oh my i have heard some others complaining of that too. i should think of better ways 🙂

  20. Sukanya says:

    Hi Roopa….
    I love Mysore Pak a lot… I was really searching for the recipe for it in many sites….Urs is very nice and step by step procedure is great…It helps me a lot. I want to give this a try.

    Thks Sukanya, i think every south indian would love this savory sweet. Do try it…..:)

  21. Lakshmi says:

    Hi Roopa, I love mysore pak. I am such a gr8 fan of it that my mom used to make Mysore pak (b’day pak) instead of a cake on my birthday.

    oh dear when i was young i was not a great fan of sweets, but now yes this week have decided not to cook any more sweets.

  22. Rinku says:

    I have been looking for a good mysore by pak recipe, that would give me the courage to try, with your step by step directions I shall give it a shot.

    Rinku you said is right, it really needs some courage and even for my benefits i took pictures so that it is easier to check whether the texture is right.

  23. Suma Gandlur says:

    Delicious dessert. Loved the slide show.

    Thks Suma

  24. Deepa says:

    wow!!!!!this is so nice ..step by step ..mouth watering …..

    Thks Deepa

Leave a Reply

