Oatmeal Nankatai/Cookies

 Oatmeal has made its way to most of our kitchens with the different health benefits it provides. Though I have been buying oats for long time still I could not possibly make it a very likable to my kids. One way I discovered from Nandita’s post to cook oats the Indian way which worked well and liking possibility changed from 15% to 75% … so this was a good sign. Getting a liking to eat oats is not quite easy as for us as it has a very stale taste and after cooking makes it a little sticky. Few years ago when my hubby asked me to take it to office and use as a health drink I could never get used to the taste of the instant cereals. After travelling overseas a few times I realised everywhere I went I found Oatmeal porridge to be very comfort food and started liking it similar to having rice porridge on the breakfast table. I am still discovering different ways of cooking it to include in our day to day life.  These cookies are one such snack loved by my kids.

Coming to the recipe this is a very simple nankatai which I substituted half oats and whole wheat flour.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

All you need:
1/2 cup butter/ghee/magarine
quick cooking oats 1/2 cup
whole wheat flour 1/2 cup
Semolina/suji rava 2 tbsp
sugar powder 1 cup ( used twice than normal)
cardamom powder – 1 tsp
baking powder – 1 tsp
milk few drops to bind
salt to taste

Method: Cream sugar and butter until fluffy. Mix dry ingredients in a seperate bowl. Add dry ingredients to the sugar butter mixture.Combine well until you have a texture to form into lemon sized balls flatten it. If the mixture is too dry add few drops of milk. Do not add too much milk as it will turn to cake texture rather than a nankatai. Bake for 10-15 min at 200 C. The cookies were tasty and crisp outter edges. You can bake for few more minutes for more crisper cookies. You can add choclate chips/raisins/nuts/desicatted coconut to make it more delicious.

36 Comments Add yours

  1. sia says:

    nankatai with oats? what a cool idea roopa. i am not a big fan of oats and find it quite bland and sticky for my my taste. but i dont think i will mind using them in making nankatai thanku for this recipe girl…u rock

    howdu me too i still have two full packs of oats, we are trying to use it, even undde tastes great sia. try madu oats idde anthanu anisolla. thks dear

  2. viji says:

    Very nice cookies roopa. Viji

    Thks viji!

  3. Aruna says:

    Oh Man Roopa, they are looking so crunchy & yummy!! Do u think I can substitute oil for butter ??? Thx. They look Great!!!

    Thks Aruna! i have not used oil not sure but you can use magarine. try madi!

  4. Richa says:

    wow they are so tempting. nice combination of oats & wheat flour, i’m sure the kids enjoyed nankhatai
    btw i just saw ur pathrode/patra recipe again, looks so yum and as you rightly said you can make extra pathrode & use it to make the turiya-patra recipe for variety

    Yeah Richa just out of the oven my daughter was just galloping …. she loves fresh cookies.Richa thanks for the tip for the turiya patra.

  5. Asha says:

    Naanu Benne biscuits madidde hoda tingalu,photo ide.Oatmeal makes it heathlier,looks great.I usually use margarine or butter too.

    Asha nima recipe post madi, this is a simple snack for tea time. Oatmealnalli berre yen madbahudu antha try madtha idde

  6. archana says:

    This combination is nice, and you can’t even make it out from the nankhatai’s appearance, that there is oats in it. Good recipe.

    Truly said Archana even the taste is not bland, it tastes as good as nankatai but a little crunchy.

  7. Coffee says:

    That looks cool!!!!!! Great combo! Never tried oat nankhaties.

    try it! you will not know the difference…..

  8. Sreelu says:

    Roopa,
    I love nankathai, oatmeal nankathai is a great idea, thanks for the recipe

    you are welcome Sreelu!

  9. Lata says:

    Oatmeal, I never thought about the cookies, I have to try this.

    Give it a try dear 🙂

  10. Suma Gandlur says:

    That’s so creative. Thanks for the healthy recipe.

    Thnks and welcome Suma!

  11. Cynthia says:

    Roopa, I am with your kids on this one, I have never been a big fan of oats. My mom used to make it for us all the time and I hated it. That was then. Now that I am older (and not necessarily wiser (lol) ) I’ve found that there two ways that I like oat meal – as a porridge and as a dessert (something I created using a similar technique of making porridge)
    Your cookies don’t look as dry and brittle as others that I’ve seen so I think I’ll give the oats a try this way

    Ha ha Cynthia hmm i have started using oats only from few yrs time, in the begining even i would hate eventually now i have tried to add it to my diet but for kids we do have to come up with something of their liking so this cookie made a good way. I think if we use only oats the cookie might be very dry as you said. This is soft because of the wheat flour and butter and sametime crunchy due to oats.

  12. sunita says:

    On the contrary, all four of us in our family love oats…as porridge and as well as in baked goodies…your cookies look scrumptious…

    That’s good for you Suni, my daughter just hates it with porridge

  13. TheCooker says:

    All of us love oats! This is a must try.

    Thnks dear and do try it

  14. Manasi says:

    Real nice!! must try! thanx

    Hi Manasi, welcome to my blog and thnks for dropping by! keep visiting !

  15. seema says:

    Roopa,
    You are sooo soo vey creative girl. How on the earth did you think of making nankathai out of it. Maklige thinso idea sakkathide…kids happy mommy happy alda.

    Thnks Seema, makkalige thinisode doda kasta aidu bari junk food ista agthu. Nan magalige sada freshly baked items ista agthu. enage estu layakagi agthu anta gotaidilee lucky me and kids enjoy maddavu. enage makkalu thindange kushi :)!

  16. nandita says:

    I can imagine going crunch-crunch on this or dipping it into a cup of masala chai- sounds like bliss- and goes into my to-do list….my parents like traditional cookies like this as against any exotic ones…
    Guess its my first time here and happy to see such a favourite cookie!

    Hi Nandita Welcome and its my pleasure to have you here! You have been an inspiration for using oatmeals in uppama which had an amazing taste and even kids loved it. Thanks a tonnes to you! hope to see you again here!

  17. Vini K says:

    wow,great way to sneak in oats into daily meals and snacks Roopa..Will try this when I make nankhatais again.Wonderful!:)

    Thanks Vini, i would try your version too!

  18. Deepa says:

    this is so very healthy …nice one ..thks for sharing ..

    Thnks Deepa

  19. rekha says:

    Hey roopa,
    Have you tried oatmeal flapjacks, they are very easy to make and yummy toooo. I eat that when i miss breakfast at home

    Oh dear time sikata comment maddake? nange recipe kalasu try madthini. nidhi loved these cookies. bye!

  20. sharmi says:

    hey the nankatai looks good . I am also planning to make them. thanks for the recipe.

    Thanks Sharmi. Checkout Vini’s version with suji too they look like store bought cookies.

  21. sukanya says:

    Hay this is looking great…love it….YUM!…nice picture..

    Thanks Sukanya….

  22. Rinku says:

    This sounds so good. I must try this. I was just thinking of oatmeal raisin cookies, but this sounds better.

    Yeah you could add in raisins too! Do try it!

  23. mandira says:

    delicious looking cookies, add raisins and they become my favorite cookie – oatmeal raisin!

  24. Ramya says:

    Hey, these are so cool!!!! Great recipe… thanx ! 🙂

  25. Sandeepa says:

    Oatmeal cookies are great and am sure these nankhatais will be great too

  26. Bharathy says:

    Nice light bite post.Its evening here,snack time,love to munch those nankattas and I am bookmarking the recipe..Thanx for sharing a recipe which had been looking out a long,Hope you got well form your FLU>>

  27. shivapriya says:

    Yummy cookies roopa & healthy too.

  28. Seena says:

    Roopa,
    very healthy cookies..!
    Now I can see the pictures..really happy to see them. Other wise it was little difficult to leave your blog without seeing the dishes..thanks dear.

  29. kajal says:

    Hi roopa,
    Delicious and healthy cookies!!!!!!!!
    I always love cookies in any flavors.
    Thanks for sharing nice recipe. I never try cookies but when I see your then think I should try it.:)
    .

  30. Sharmi says:

    hey I dont see any pics. have you posted? nice recipe. I first thought it must be because of firefox. but even in IE I dont see anything.

  31. sharmi says:

    ok I got to see it using another laptop of mine dear. looks good.

  32. Hi Roopa, those have to be the yummiest looking oatmeal cookies I have ever seen! I will try these out on my own kids (of all ages) 😉

    Thanks for sharing them! 🙂
    Linda

  33. prema says:

    Oatmeal Naankhatai is a very creative and healthy recipe Roopa. Thanks for sharing.

  34. Dilip says:

    Naankhatai…wow…I love em…but never tried it with oatmeal before…I guess I have to try it…thanks for sharing

  35. sia says:

    oye kuse:) enta blogging break aa henge?

    hi sia hmm hage attu, time sikkidille, busy agidde magalige raja aanu makkala jothe raja hakki idde since last caretaker left maga innu astu adjust ayiddile hosa lady jothe.

  36. Saj says:

    great idea to use oats! healthy or what!

Leave a Reply

