ಚೌ ಚೌ ಭಾತ್/Chow Chow Bhath

on

Sorry for a my disappearance for a while i am back, thanks a lot for checking on me . Well what is the name of this dish Chow chow bhath? Are you all wondering what is this or did I make a mistake typing it no no its right here let me come to the recipe later….Now I just want to close my eyes  and remember those wonderfull memories morning call with the melodious Suprabhata WBB#12and bells ringing from the distant temple at the same time Darshinis in bangalore wake up ah the dangling of the steel plates and cups the aroma of hot coffee, the flavours overflowing from the outlets mainly hot iddlis vada sambhar, the different variety of dosas, chowchow bhath/kara bhath.  ondu coffee haku illi ondu masale illi, iddli vada sambhar I am being nostalgic as writing this with wonderfull snapshots revolving around me.  Coming  to the recipe i just love be it iddili vada or chow chow bhath or masala dosa, only the name sounds very different. This is the plate chow chow bhath served in most of the Bangalore Darshinis with one cup of uppuma/uppittu and another cup of rava kesari bhath. Isn’t it a simple dish with a lovely name……..This is my entry for Nandita from Saffron Trail’s Breakfast series Spice it up WBB#12 hosted by Trupti from The Spice Who Loved Me
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Kara bhath/Uppittu(the yellow cup)

Rava/semolina – 1 cup

onions – sliced thinly

tomato – 1

green chillies – 2 slit

ginger – slit thinly 1tsp

curry leaves – 1 sprig

salt and sugar to taste

mustard seeds – 1 tsp

channa dhal/urad dhall – 1tsp

asafoteida – 1/8 tsp

turmeric powder – 1/2 tsp

chilli powder (optional)

mixed vegetables cut into small chunks (optional)

Method:

  • Dry roast Rava in 1 tsp oil/ghee until light golden color and keep aside.

  • In a kadai prepare tempering with channa dhall , mustard, hing , curry leaves.

  • Fry chillies, ginger and onions until onions are translucent. fry veges for 2 minutes(optional).

  • Add tomatoes and turmeric powder fry until tomato is half cooked.

  • Add 1.5 to 2 times water allow it to boil. Add salt and sugar(optional) .

  •  Sim the fire now add the fried rava and stir well. Mix and steam until rava gets cooked.

  •  Garnish with grated coconut and coriander leaves. 

Rava kesari bhath(the orange cup)

Rava/semolina – 1 cup

ghee – 4 tbsp

sugar – 1 cup ( or less for low sugar)

salt – 1/8 tsp

saffron strands – 10

orange color (optional)

cashews and raisins – 10 fried in ghee

cardamom powder – 1 tsp

water and milk half and half (1.5cups)

Method:

  • Fry cashews and rasins and keep aside.

  • Take ghee in a pan and roast rava with saffron strands until a nice aroma spreads.

  • Add water +milk and salt to cook the rava well. Now Check the rava, it should be cooked very well.

  • Once the water is absorbed add sugar and let it boil  until ghee floats on top. If very less ghee is used you cannot see the ghee float.

  • mix in cardamom powder and let it cool. Garnish with fried cashews and raisins.

Notes: Add 1 tsp of ghee to flavour the uppuma just before serving. soak channa dhall for 10 mins before using for tempering to get soft dhalls. Add tsp of chilli powder/ pulav masala/Vangi bhath masala for flavoured uppuma. Water measurement varies for different Rava. Normally medium sized semolina takes around 1.5 times water if granules are bigger it takes around 2 times of rava.

31 Comments Add yours

  1. Coffee says:

    Thats such a nostalgic post Roopa. 🙂 The yellow cup and the orange cup are fabulous 🙂

    he he thks dear.

  2. bee says:

    i always wondered about your blog name. now i know. it’s a great name.

    now you it right, actually this should have been my first post but never got it to do…Thks Bee

  3. Suganya says:

    I was hoping one day u wud post this recipe that inspired yr blog name.. But I was under the impression that chow chow bath has ‘chow chow’ (chayote squash) 😀

    Yeah atleast now the time has come. chayote is called chow chow i only knew when i came to singapore of that but back home we call it seemebadnekayi.Basically chow chow bhath is little kata(kara bhath) and meeta(kesari)

  4. viji says:

    Both are looking great. Goesl well with your blog name. 🙂 Viji

    Thks viji!

  5. archana says:

    Loved that morning scene you described. Both the cups are looking nice. Even I used to wonder what chow chow meant 🙂
    This is a great entry for WBB. I would love to have it for my breakfast 🙂

    thks i love this dish can eat anytime.

  6. TheCooker says:

    Mystery solved! Now I know what chow-chow means. Meant to ask you but never got around to it.
    Looks appetizing!

    oh my i should have posted it very begining but always only plan but in the morning hurry never get it right. Finally during kids hols i had time to click some photos and post it…..

  7. ruchii says:

    Hi Roopa,
    Khara bath and kesari bath are always good together. Thanks for sharing…..

    Hi Madhu nice to see you here! thanks for dropping by !&lt

  8. sia says:

    aha… very nostalgic post roopa 🙂 right next to my PG in b’lore we had one darshini hotel and early moring at 5 when we used to go for jogging we would come back with hunger spangs 😉 sometimes we ended up having our breakfast there itself 🙂

    Right tempting alda, its been a year since our last visit last yr we could not go out much with out little son in blore. Next time will be fun waiting for it….

  9. trupti says:

    What great entries! Love the color of both……thanks so much for participating!
    🙂

    Thanks trupti!

  10. indosungod says:

    the namesakes look really tasty. I have tasted the khesari bhath but not the kara bhath. time to make it

    Thks Indo! hope you try the khara bhath and enjoy it!

  11. Asha says:

    YAY!!! Now your blog is legitimate!!:D
    Thanks for these.They look sooo delicious,wish I was there.Uppittu ,Kesari Bhath is heaven together.You saved me the trouble of making it in my blog.Great job Roopa.Hugs.

    Ha ha yes you are right! estu sari nanu madbeku antha ankonde but never. The time should come right! life is getting little busy school starts for nidhi Appa vapas india hortidarre not much time to blog so yella events yeno plan maddide .ok bye Asha 🙂

  12. sunita says:

    The mystery of the name has been finally resolved…loved both the cups…

    i never thought so many would be thinking what is behind the name 🙂 now i know it right!

  13. sandeepa says:

    I loved the Darshinis in B’lore, there was one right beside my home and we would get breakfast from there often.
    But why the name “chow chow”, I used to think something to do with noodles.
    Both the “bhaths” look lovely, I like the shape

    yeah Darshini’s next doors are very tempting. Thanks Sandeepa , the name is for little hot and little sweet with 2 cups.

  14. Cynthia says:

    Now this is a breakfast to wake up to!

    yeah we love this combo, do try it sometime cynthia.

  15. Richa says:

    now i know about the name 🙂 that plate looks YUM!!
    u brought back some wonderful memories, upma/sheera mix was my most fav at the Matunga joints 🙂 can eat it for breakfast, lunch or dinner 🙂 somehow never made that combo at home

    its always the case i also made this combo after years. Someone prepares it is fine like my aunts and inlaws always very happy to make such tiffins for mornings unlike me 🙂

  16. Ramya says:

    This is one of my fav combos for breakfast!!! I think this was even the breakfast menu on one of the days during my wedding :). Yours look lovely too…

    howdu even for wedding they do make you made some of the memories of my sis wedding roll back. What a spread of delicious food during weddings love it…

  17. Aruna says:

    Roopa, Delicious Combo. 🙂

    thnks Aruna

  18. kajal says:

    Nice entry with colorful dish.
    Mouthwatering…..dish….Send me immediately…..just kidding.:)
    Have a nice day.:)

    Thanks dear 🙂 he he coming to you…………..

  19. gana says:

    Nice combo; good to eat .

  20. Usha says:

    Hi!
    Yellow cup is made of rava???!!! It is very nice.. I know kesari!!!but kara bhath is new to me other than upma.
    Nice entry for the event.

    usha nice to see you here! khara bhath is upma and made of rava. May be the method we make is slightly different.

  21. ramya says:

    Hi roopa,
    thank u so much for ur comments in my blog.Ur rava kesari is tempting and kara bhath is something new to me.Thanks for sharing.

    Hi Ramya thks for your visit!hope to see you again here!

  22. Dilip says:

    great recipe…love the post…mouthwatering….thanks for sharing

    Thanks Dilip Bhai anything coming out of the oven this week ?

  23. Hi Roopa, such a lovely reminiscence to read — thank you for sharing that! Both recipes sound so tasty I’d have to think which one to try first 🙂 Lovely photo too!

    Linda

  24. ramya says:

    Ohh!! another one in my wish list i wanted to prepare so many but i don’t and i thought chow chow bath u will have chow chow in it and serching for chow chow in ur recipie but no chow chow then where this name came from.And this is a wonderful recipie.

  25. just for fun says:

    Both the cups looks great. I too make rava little similar too this. Will try your version 🙂 Looks great.

  26. aa says:

    Oh roopa! you just made me wake up and smell the saaambaaaaaaar at the beginning of this post. I know *exactly* what you are talking about….I so miss and crave the darshini experience. And you recaptured it so well…i *truly* did smell the samabr!! Perhaps we can look forward to a post on the classic rava idli-potato sagoo combo?
    I was always intrigued by chowchow bhath…I didn’t know what it was until I was about 10 yrs old, and ordered it thinking i will get chinese flavoured upma (chow-mein..chow-bhath??) …and ended up with regular upma and rava kesari…:) I wolfed down the kesari and let my ma have the upma…and ended up being labelled a ‘northie’ for loving sweets at breakfast 🙂

    Hi Annapoorna welcome to my chow chow bhath. Thanks for dropping by and making me inspired with your comment. Yeah rarely anythone would think of the name and dish served for it. rava iddli and potato sago i will post it next time i prepare. hope to see you again!

  27. Kanchana says:

    I love all your recipes! I have been looking for a kesari recipe, now I found one!

    Thanks for sharing, and your comments on my blog!
    I’ll be back soon….

    Kanchana

    Hi Kanchana welcome to my blog! i am glad you liked my recipes. Do visit again!

  28. Sneha says:

    Cool! Chowchowbath looks yumm! Bayalli neeru barutthe!

    After such a long time good to see your comments! hope to see you blogging soon 🙂

  29. What’s up, love designs for your site. Could you intellect indicating everybody what exactly motif you can be utilising? I’m fresh to it and i’m looking for getting my service shopping any place near as neat seeing that your site. With thanks lots.

Leave a Reply

