Badam Katli/Almond Burfi

on

You all know what the all the dry fruits are stored in my refrigerator. Now I am out of space so which is one gonna to be out of it. I chose to empty half my pack of almonds so I get some space. This is the most loved sweet by my kids either with Badam or Cashew. But take care prepare this only if you have enough time yes stirring now and then takes atleast minimum of 45 mins to an hour. There are different ways like mixing flour will yield a faster burfi but the taste is not the same. Follow the same procedure for Cashew burfi substitute cashews for Badam.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

All you need

Badam 1 cup
Sugar – 1.5 cups or more
milk – 1/4 cup
cardamom powder (optional)

Method:

  • Soak Badam in hot water and peel the skin.
  • Grind Badam with a little milk to a smooth paste use minimumof liquid to blend.
  • Take a big aluminium foil spread it on your kitchen top, brush some ghee or butter evenly keep aside
  • Now take a kadai better to use a non stick kadai, add the badam paste and sugar and stir on medium heat.
  • You can add a tsp of ghee if desired to avoid sticking to the pan
  • Keep stirring now and then until everything forms a soft lump and leaves the edges of the kadai.
  • Mix cardamom powder(optional)
  • Immediately pour the soft lump on the aluminium foil and roll with the rolling pin( greased with oil/butter) to the desired burfi thickness
  • Pat silver foil papers on the burfi if you like to.
  • Leave for 2 mins cut into desired shapes until it solidifies a little.

note: The mixture must be heated only in low to medium heat else the burfi will turn brown. Use as little ghee as possible to retain the badam flavour.

33 Comments Add yours

  1. Suganya says:

    My mom always prepares this only when our granny visits us. Now I know its helpful to have a second hand for that 45 min stirring 🙂

    Yeah thats right, but with other task side by side would e best 🙂

  2. priyanka says:

    The badam burfi looks so yummm…..and the recipe is so simple Roopa… thanks for sharing…

    Thanks dear 🙂 hope you try them

  3. Musical says:

    Great looking katli there, Roopa and such and easy recipe too! thanks dear, mithai lovers are gonna’ be delighted :).

    Thanks dear :)! oooh i am one of them too he he!

  4. Coffee says:

    Cool!!! I didn’t know it was this simple to make! 🙂

    Now you know right! do try them esp cashew i love them 🙂

  5. indosungod says:

    Roopa one of the simplest but tastiest dishes. Love it , usually make keeping the kids in mind but end up eating quiet a bit.

    Hey ISG you are right, after i make if i see it didn’t finish by end of a week or so i start eating them :).

  6. Richa says:

    LOL! are you describing ur refrigerator or mine 🙂 but then a full refrigerator is a sign of a foodie, i like to think 🙂
    badam burfi looks so professional, i guess 45 mins of stirring does pay off, looks YUM!

    he he so yours too :). thanks dear, and sure the 45 mins is like oh i keep stirring are you done ha ha once my friend called up during the diwali time asked me how long it takes, i said just keep stirring until you see a lump so this time i timed it 🙂

  7. archana says:

    Your badam burfi is looking perfectly shaped and just right. I would like to try with cashwew :)Nice easy recipe 🙂

    Thanks dear 🙂 personally i too like the cashews which i make during diwali time do try them 🙂

  8. sandeepa says:

    Looks divine Roopa and a nice and easy recipe

    Thanks dear 🙂

  9. viji says:

    Lovely roopa. Viji

    Thanks Viji 🙂

  10. saju says:

    yummy! Badam Burfi! Can I use ground almonds? I have a lot in my larder, could be a good way to use it up.

    Saju as long as it is raw almonds you could soak and make a paste should be fine, but don’t use roasted ones they give a very different texture and taste. 🙂

  11. Lakshmi says:

    Akash is saying that he wanna eat this! hahahaha he tasted it virtually. You have tempted me and it is weekend I cannot take any excuses………. 😉

    Gotto to try 🙂 now he he. you can say good bye to the boxes of sweets if you happen to buy at mustafa!

  12. Asha says:

    I cleaned my fridge yesterday and used Almonds too in a dish!! Looks great Roopa.I love the Almond taste better than Cashews.I will try this next time,I have to buy more now!
    Have a great weekend.Glad your PC is not giving trouble!:))

    he he nivu clean madidra nandu mugiyalarada kathe!Will looks forward what it your dish about i still have half pack of almonds. yeah now i have one laptop for myself he he:)

  13. Mishmash! says:

    Can I take one from that ?:D

    Shn

    ha ha grab it Shn 🙂

  14. Tee says:

    Masta! Your almond burfis look so professional…got to give it a shot:)

    Thanks Tee 🙂 sure let me know too how it turns

  15. Sukanya says:

    This is my fav sweet…..Nice recipe….Love it…Great picture..

    Thanks sukanya 🙂

  16. bee says:

    looks delish, roopa. jai usually makes this version:
    http://saffronhut.blogspot.com/2006/10/simple-sweet-kaju-kathli-cashew.html

    however, it takes only ten minutes or so, not 45 minutes. wonder why that’s the case.

    Thanks for the link Bee 🙂 ok well i used to make that way years ago i always found this has turned out best for me will give this a try again see how it turns . But the cashew takes less time than badam burfi may be due to texture nd also depends on the quantity you are making.

  17. bhags says:

    This sounds too simple to be true 🙂 for a truly divine sweet…i love it and now i know how to make it….thanks

  18. Aparna says:

    Wow, Roopa…tumbha channagidde. Nimna nodi nangu maadakke aasai aagbitide…let’s see. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks kanri! try madi nodi…:)

  19. Poonam says:

    Hey Roopa, Lovely recipe!

    Thanks Poonam!

  20. prajusha says:

    hi roopa,
    thanks for visiting my blog.
    `U got a nice blog with yummy and delicious recipes.
    Badam Burfi looks great and also Perfect shape.

    Thanks Prajusha for dropping by!keep visiting 🙂

  21. Jyothsna says:

    I thought I left a comment here…… nice recipe, I have lots of almonds right now, should try!

    Never mind 🙂 glad you dropped by !

  22. swapna says:

    the burfi looks perfect.Really i am going to try it out.i have lots of badam lying in the kitchen….thanks for the wonderful and easiest recipe.

    Thanks Swapna… do try and let me know 🙂

  23. Kanchana says:

    Roopa,

    My mom taught me to make this in the microwave. You keep putting in the microwave for a minute at a time, taking it out and mixing and then putting it back in. She claims there is less chance of it burning than having to constantly mix on the stove. I like your aluminum foil method, and rolling it out with the rolling pin. Very cool.

    Kanchana

    on yeah microwaving would be a great idea, i do that for coconut burfi . BTW how long does it take? aluminium foil is great way so that i do not need to check whether it would fit in one or two plate always i had this prob so all of sudden it flashed why not aluminium foil.

  24. mamatha says:

    Hi roopa,
    Badam burfi is so tempting, definite agi try madutene,
    and I will let U know,

    thanks mamatha, do let me know how it turns out…

  25. Grihini says:

    Hi Roopa, Visited your food blog here and found it pretty good. You’ve done an amazing job with the karnataka recipes. I will keep trying one after another..hope you dont mind 🙂
    And yeah, I love this badam Burfi..one of my fav. can’t wait to try it out…….

    Hi Grihini welcome to my blogospehere its my pleasure to have you here! hope you enjoy trying those dishes, do let me know how it turns out too 🙂

  26. kajal says:

    Hi Roopa,

    Wah re Wah….Badam burfi…..great my dear……I think every body want this my dear…..really my mouth is watering….after taking my breakfast I see your lovely piece than I am also hungry……so go to the kitchen…..

    Thanks kajal! hope you try them too!

  27. mansi says:

    gosh!! i can’t wait ti eat this!! can’t u deliver the food, rather than the recipe:)

    btw, check some other veggie options at my blog on http://funnfud.blogspot.com

    Thanks for stopping by!

    -Mansi
    http://funnfud.blogspot.com

  28. Laksmi says:

    Hi Roopa,

    I tried it and it was delicious. No chance to take pics becoz both hubby n my son did not allow it to solidify, they said it can solidify in stomach 🙂 well they like it so much. Thanks for the wonderfull recipe

    You are welcome lakshmi! thanks for trying them 🙂

  29. Those burfis are looking yummy. I too store the dryfruits always like you. With so many festivals we’ll need them any way. I’ll make this for diwali as my daughter loves badam.

    Thanks Latha :). yeah you are right! i need to buy now no stock he he! for diwali its great to make this i make with cashew normally!

  30. Sonia says:

    Hi, the burfi looks amazing, i would like to try it. But can u tell me, if after adding badam paste and sugar, will it turn brown, because of the sugar melting? I did try this recipe, i first melted the sugar, it was brown by then, and then added the badam paste, by then it was almost chocolate brown in color. yours are cream in color. how did this happen, where did i go wrong?
    I followed the same procedure as in this website:

    http://blogs.tastycooks.com/?p=38

    But turned out to be something else. Please help.

    Hi sonia, sugar melting with water should not cause it brown unless the water you have added with sugar is less it can get caralamalised. you should constantly stir which and once the sugar melts is should reach the sugar syrup of jamun then 1 string and 2 stirng which will still be white and will not go brown. hopw this helps 🙂

  31. Hi Roopa, says:

    I tried and it came out soft.It was not easy to cut into proper squares too.The taste was good.

  32. amanda alvarez says:

    ima try this for my friends back at home were can i get the silver warak

Leave a Reply

