Pumpkin with Black eyed Peas

This is a very simple coconut based curry. I had never thought of blogging this recipe which is quite similar to kerala style Olan. May be this is Olan but a modified version. I learnt this recipe from my hubby who in turn got this from his buddy bachelor roommate who was a keralite. This curry was a big hit whenever I had prepared for any get togethers, so thought it would be good to pen it down here.This is more like a comfort curry when I am tired of sambhars I prepare this curry with basically any melons/potato/cucumber with different variety of beans.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

All you need:
yellow Pumpkin firm – 1 cup cubed
Black eyed peas – 1 cup
grated coconut – 1 cup
green chillies – 2
cumin/jeera seeds – 2 tsp
tumeric powder – 1/2 tsp

Tempering
Coconut oil – for tempering
curry leaves – 1 sprig
mustard seeds – 1 tsp
red chillies (optional)
asafoetida – 1/8 tsp(optional)

Method:

  • Soak Black Eyed peas for half an hour in water
  • Pressure cook beans until soft not mushy takes around 6 whistles in 12ltr cooker, cooks faster if soaked previous day
  • Boil the pumpkin pieces until half boiled in microwave.
  • Grind coconut + cumin + green chillies + turmeric to a fine paste
  • Add the cooked peas, coconut paste to the half boiled pumpkin and bring to boil along with salt
  • Taste check for salt and turn off fire.
  • Prepare the tadka, heat oil add asafoteida + mustard seeds. once the mustard splutter add curry leaves and pour it over the curry.
  • Serve hot with rice or if you prefer even with chapatis/rotis

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 

Check out the Olan recipes at Jai & Bee’s JugalBandi

33 Comments Add yours

  1. mandira says:

    looks like I missed a lot of goodies 🙂 the curry looks delicious. I like the combo of pumpkin with black eyed peas.

    Mandira welcome back! glad to see you back…. you can always check back on all the blogs when you are settled down 🙂

  2. archana says:

    This is nice . I had learnt something similar from my Coorgi friend too. Good combo of pumpkin and black eyed peas and gr8 pictures 🙂

    Thanks Archana! coorgi dish i will look forward to yours dear 🙂

  3. Asha says:

    Love it Roopa.I love the Kerala Olan,Avial,Thoran etc.Great names and easy to make them too.Looks yum!:)

    I made Avial too.

    Howdu Asha! i too love them all too 🙂 so eyeing still to buy the Ammini’s book !

  4. Priyanka says:

    Thats such a yumm pumpkin recipe….i love anything spicy with pumpkins and this is a sure winner… will let you know how it turns out Roopa…

    Thanks Priyanka! So try dear and let me know whether you liked it 🙂

  5. mamatha says:

    Nice recipe roopa,
    Boodu Kumbalakayi + alasande jote saaru madutene,
    I have to try this, Does it taste sweet?

    Thanks mamatha, saaru,sambhar also taste great. try this combo add more chillies according to your spice level and try to get firmer pumpkins which taste great for this curry will sure not be sweet unless the pumpkins are very ripe.

  6. jai says:

    it’s very much like olan, except we use coconut milk and no real ‘tempering’.

    Thanks jai:) i really did not know what is this dish called until i saw your olan blogged so felt it is quite similar.

  7. Sig says:

    It sure is a modified Olan Roopa, I guess a cross between Olan and Thoran… :), so Tholan? 🙂 .Whatever you call it, sure looks great, and I’m sure it tasted yummy too..

    HE he 🙂 thats a very nice name for my dish oh yeah when i saw your comment i thought it is really a cross. i like the new name 🙂 tholan ha ha

  8. Richa says:

    that looks very inviting, i’m so glad u decided to post this recipe. i like black eye peas a lot, nice to know one more recipe with it, wish i had pumpkin in the refrigerator NOW 🙂

    Richa, actually only after pouring the curry to the microwave dish i thought oh i should have blogged this, then quickly did a fast shot 🙂 glad you all liked it dear 🙂

  9. seema says:

    I loved the combo very much. We call this curry as Avyal and use all different veggies in it as well. Nice picture buddy.

    Thanks Seema, yeah i do make avial but i guess if i am not wrong we add tomatoes/tamarind/yogurt. this curry is without any sour ingredient that makes the difference.

  10. ramya says:

    lovely combo roopa.looks delicious.:)

    Thanks Ramya 🙂

  11. Tee says:

    Nice recipe and I am glad you decided to pen it down for us 🙂

    You are most welcome dear 🙂 and hope you try them

  12. Suma Gandlur says:

    Seems a simple, neat recipe.

    Thats right Suma, simple as the very few ingredients too !

  13. Mishmash! says:

    hmm…from the title, i thought it’s olan, but from the olan preps I know, generally we use coconut milk and not the ground coconut, but we do the tempering as well….

    Shn

    hmm he he so it is all a modified version 🙂

  14. sharmi says:

    I love olan. this one as Shn says looks different and may be i can give a try.

    hmm i should try the right Olan next time !

  15. Musical says:

    Lovely it is, by all means. and i love that name “tholan”, he he. its looking soooooooo good!

    Yeah, musical i loved the new name 🙂 its so nice to call a name to a loved dish right !

  16. sia says:

    what??? this is what we just had it for dinner now 🙂 i love kembude bendhi as we call it 😀

    ningal manellu E dish madthra!! he he enaga eddake hesaru kembude bendi antha ni heldage gotatu. both my in laws and mothers place do not prepare this. i guess if i prepared they would probably call this majjige hakidre majjige huli agthu 🙂 ond sathi hage aatu menasu rashi kara agi kadege majjige huli madde haha ! you missed my last post i guess or I missed the comment:)

  17. Hi roopa
    this dish is new to me.looks good.

    Thanks Swapna! do try it if you like the coconut gravy 🙂

  18. Dee says:

    I have to try this.. interesting combo

    Glad you liked the combo do give it a try 🙂

  19. Coffee says:

    COOL!! I am all for coconut based curries! Nice to combine it with some beans as well! 🙂

    Thanks Coffee!

  20. viji says:

    It is lovely Roopa. Viji

    Thanks Viji 🙂

  21. Aparna says:

    Nice one, Roopa..I’m quite fond of black eyed beans, but I can’t eat the yellow pumpkin..!!!

    Can I try this with boodhkumblekayi (white pumpkin) instead??

    Sure aparna you can use any pumkin or melon variety for this curry!

  22. SeeC says:

    Pumpkin and coconut gravy awesome !!!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Your blog is well organised. Good job !

    And wanted to let you know that I have given a link to your blog from mine. Hope thats fine with you 🙂

    Hi Seec welcome dear 🙂 thanks for the compliments and adding me to your blog roll 🙂

  23. Laavanya says:

    Roopa that looks really good and creamy. Olan uses coconut milk but this is different in a way, yet similar.. 🙂

    Thanks laavanya 🙂

  24. sandeepa says:

    Have never tried Olan. This looks very creamy too

    Sandeepa, do try it if you like the coconut flavour with cumin it goes along very well 🙂

  25. Bharathy says:

    I simply love love this kerala stuff,Roops…wonderful to find that cutie picture with the perfect recipe..:)

    Thanks Bharathy for the lovely words 🙂

  26. kajal says:

    Oh my first visitor…..I never try this type of recipe. But I definitely say this is tasty. Looks very attractive with pumpkin.:)

    Thanks dear!:)

  27. Laksmi says:

    Lovely one. I prepare similar one and use a little yoghurt too. so a marriage btw Olan and Majjige Huli. But I dont use pumpkin there. With Pumpkin it is looking gr8. Shud be tasting yummy too. Will try next time when I get pumpkin.

    right btw olam and majjige huli 🙂 it tastes great try madi nodi 🙂

  28. That looks positively scrumptious, Roopa! A must-try for me, thank you! 🙂
    Linda

    Thanks Linda! do try them 🙂

  29. Cynthia says:

    Pumpkin and black-eyed peas cooked in coconut milk! I’ve bookmarked this recipe and cannot wait to try it. Looks great, Roopa.

    Thanks Cynthia 🙂 do try them glad to see you back 🙂

  30. sunita says:

    I love pumpkin…the curry looks great.

    thanks Suni 🙂 do try them if you like the combo !

  31. Padma says:

    I have bookmarked this recipe and will surely try it

  32. Kanchana says:

    This looks like such a good combination. I think it sounds really really healthy, and it looks like it tastes good as well.

    Great one!
    Kanchana

  33. ramya says:

    hi roopa,
    Hey no posts from so long. Are on break. I mean vacation.

Leave a Reply

